Geek Life
0 comments

10 Books to Read if You Like Supernatural

by on January 20, 2017
 

Are you a fan of Supernatural? Do you want to read some cool books that are pretty similar to the show? Here’s a list of novels to read while you’re waiting for Supernatural to come back from Hellatus!

1. Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett

615ThvjLqFLGood Omens is a comedy about the birth of the son of Satan, a.k.a. the coming of the End Times. An angel, Aziraphale, and a demon, Crowley, team up to try to sabotage the coming apocalypse (does that sound familiar or what?). There are a few different subplots within the book including a story about Adam, the antichrist, who grows up in the wrong family (this is just too similar now) and a story about the four horsepersons of the apocalypse who have their own interesting personalities.

2. The Awesome by Eva Darrows

23014001This book is basically if Jo and Ellen Harvelle had their own show, except in this world hunting monsters is totally normal. Oh, and you can’t be a virgin if you want to hunt vampires because vampires love virgin blood… Okay, I have to admit that that plotline had me a little concerned, but this book is actually very humorous and the main character, a seventeen year old girl, is very sarcastic. Her sense of humor and attitude is very relatable. This book just makes me want the Wayward Daughters spin off even more.

3. Odd Thomas by Dean Koontz

imagesOdd Thomas is about a man who is approached by the ghost of a young girl who was raped and murdered. Turns out Odd Thomas has a unique ability to understand the dead and gets psychically led to her killer. The book reveals Odd’s dysfunctional upbringing and how it shaped his life, which explains his supernatural abilities (*cough* Sam Winchester *cough*).

4. Demon’s Lexicon by Sarah Rees Brennan

1829655The story is about two brothers that are demon slaying partners and can only trust each other. And no I’m not describing Sam and Dean. Demon’s Lexicon is about Nick and his older brother Alan. Their father is dead and their mother isn’t all there mentally. She’s definitely no help when evil magicians sic demons on Nick and Alan to get back a charm their mother stole. Things get even more complicated when Nick suspects Alan isn’t telling him the truth about their parents and their past.

5. Sisters Red by Jackson Pearce

6357708In this novel werewolves have been murdering girls all over town. Scarlett March was attacked by one while she was defending her sister Rosie. Now Scarlett is making it her duty to kill the werewolves before they murder anyone else. Rosie dreams of not wanting to live the hunter life and when she falls for Scarlett’s only friend, a young woodsman, she feels that she is failing her sister.

6. The Cemetery Boys by Heather Brewer

18484774Stephen is forced to move back to the town where his father grew up. A town that is awfully creepy, Spencer, Michigan. He soon becomes friends with mysterious twins Cara and Devon. The twins hardly get along so Stephen feels he’s getting caught in the middle of conflicts he doesn’t fully understand. The kids hang out at the cemetery, or what they call “The Playground,” and do reckless activities. Stephen starts to feel that he’s in over his head. It turns out he thought right when he starts learning more and more about this town.

7. Unbreakable by Kami Garcia

12371862Unbreakable is pretty much like Supernatural meets The Da Vinci Code. Kennedy Waters discovers her mother is dead, but she doesn’t know that paranormal entities are behind it. Not until twin brothers Jared and Lukas Lockhart break into Kennedy’s room to save her from a spirit that was sent to kill her. Jared and Lukas tell Kennedy that her mother was part of an ancient secret society that is protecting the world from a vengeful demon. Turns out that all five members were killed on the same night. Now it’s up to Kennedy to discover the truth, stay alive, and defeat the demon.

8. Evil Librarian by Michelle Knudsen

20708754A new librarian is in town, he’s young, hot and…a little strange. Cynthia Rothschild’s best friend, Annie gets a crush on this new librarian, but something’s wrong. Cynthia isn’t falling for his charms. Now she has to save Annie from the evil clutches of the librarian, who just so happens to be a demon.

9. Hold Me Closer Necromancer by Lish McBride

8041873Sam, a normal guy, meets Douglas, a violent creep who is a necromancer. Douglas raises the dead for cash and thinks Sam has potential for the same. Turns out Sam is a necromancer as well and has hidden powers (sounds like a Sam we know). Bad things will happen if he doesn’t learn how to control his strange new powers, luckily Sam lives in Seattle where there are as many paranormal people as there are coffee shops.

10. The Supernatural novels by various authors

0c6d31fa4d08ccd0cac7c168a23c5871Last but not least, you could always check out one of the many novelizations of Supernatural. Now these books might not look like the novels that share the same name in the show, but they are pretty compelling if you’re craving more of the Winchester brothers.

Be the first to comment!
 
Leave a reply »

 

Leave a Response